This is a past event. Registration is closed. View more events from Yale Center Beijing

Event Details

Yale Center Beijing and the Yale Club of Beijing jointly invite you to a conversation with Yale Law School alumna Jennifer M. Harris, senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations.

Event Description


Today, nations increasingly carry out geopolitical combat through economic means. Policies governing everything from trade and investment to energy and exchange rates are wielded as tools to win diplomatic allies, punish adversaries, and coerce those in between. Not so in the United States, however. America still too often reaches for the gun over the purse to advance its interests abroad. The result is a playing field sharply tilting against the United States.

In a cogent analysis of why the United States is losing ground as a world power and what it can do to reverse the trend, War by Other Means: Geoeconomics and Statecraft describes the statecraft of geoeconomics: the use of economic instruments to achieve geopolitical goals. Geoeconomics has long been a lever of America’s foreign policy. But factors ranging from U.S. bureaucratic politics to theories separating economics from foreign policy leave America ill prepared for this new era of geoeconomic contest, while rising powers, especially China, are adapting rapidly. The rules-based system Americans set in place after World War II benefited the United States for decades, but now, as the system frays and global competitors take advantage, America is uniquely self-constrained. Its geoeconomic policies are hampered by neglect and resistance, leaving the United States overly reliant on traditional military force.

Drawing on immense scholarship and government experience, Robert Blackwill and Jennifer Harris show that if America’s policies are left uncorrected, the price in American blood and treasure will only grow. What geoeconomic warfare requires is a new vision of U.S. statecraft.

Language

The language of the event will be English.

Schedule

6:30-7:00 pm: Registration
7:00-8:30 pm: Remarks and Q&A

Registration and Payment

Ticket: RMB 15 for students; RMB 60 for others.

Please note: All attendee information collected by Yale Center Beijing through the event registration form on this website, or by any other means, will be kept strictly confidential. Yale Center Beijing will never distribute, sell, license, or otherwise make available for any purpose, any attendee information to any third party, unless otherwise required by law.

Speakers

  • Jennifer Harris (Senior fellow  at  Council on Foreign Relations)

    Jennifer Harris

    Senior fellow at Council on Foreign Relations

    Read Bio

Tickets

Standard Ticket
RMB 60
Student Ticket
RMB 15

About Yale Center Beijing

Menu

此活动已结束,注册已经关闭。耶鲁北京中心中查看更多活动.

活动详情

耶鲁北京中心和耶鲁北京校友会诚邀您参加与美国外交关系协会高级研究员、耶鲁法学院校友珍妮弗·M·哈里斯博士的对话。

活动描述


如今,越来越多的国家在地缘政治斗争中转向采用经济手段。从贸易和投资到能源和汇率领域的所有政策都被掌控成为政治工具,以实现赢取外交盟友、攻击竞争国家,并压制那些中间国家的目的。然而美国并非如此,美国在海外推行其本国国家利益方面过于依赖武力。其结果是出现不利于美国的国际竞争态势。

《战争的其他形式:地缘经济和治国方略》一书中强有力地分析了为何美国正在丧失其世界大国的地位以及如何扭转这种趋势,阐述了地缘经济学的治国方略:利用经济手段来实现地缘政治目标。长期以来地缘经济是美国外交政策的杠杆。但是从美国官僚政治模式到经济与外交政策相独立的理论等这些因素,让美国在地缘经济竞争的新时代措手不及,而崛起的大国,尤其是中国,正在迅速地适应这种时代环境。二战后美国人设定的规则导向的国际体系让美国几十年来一直从中受益,而如今,随着该体系效力的削弱和竞争国家开始占据优势地位,美国固步自封。美国的地缘经济政策因遭受忽视和反对而受阻,导致美国对传统军事力量过度依赖。

凭借丰富的学术和政府工作经验,罗伯特·布莱克威尔和珍妮弗·哈里斯在书中提出,如果美国不调整对外政策,美国人付出的生命和财产的代价只会越来越大。地缘经济冲突需要美国采取新的治国策略。

活动语言

活动语言为英文。

活动计划

下午6:30-7:00 pm: 注册
下午7:00-8:30 pm: 演讲与问答

注册与费用

门票:学生15元;普通门票60元。

重要提示:耶鲁北京中心高度尊重您的隐私权。参会者通过此活动报名表格或其他报名渠道提供的信息将会绝对保密。除非有相关的法规和法院命令,我们不会与他人分享、出售或出租参会者的任何个人信息。

演讲嘉宾

  • Jennifer 珍妮弗·M·哈里斯博士 (美国外交关系协会   高级研究员 / 耶鲁法学博士)

    Jennifer 珍妮弗·M·哈里斯博士

    美国外交关系协会高级研究员 / 耶鲁法学博士

    嘉宾简介

票务信息

普通门票
¥60
学生门票
¥15

关于耶鲁北京中心

菜单