This is a past event. Registration is closed. View other Yale Center Beijing events.

Event Details

Event Description


Professor William N.Getzomann will talk on China's financial innovation through historyand his book Money Changes Everything. Published in 2016 by Princeton University Press, the book was one of Bloomberg's Best Books of 2016 and one of Financial Times (FT.com) Best Economics Books of 2016.


In his book, he shows how finance was present at key moments in history: driving the invention of writing in ancient Mesopotamia, spurring the classical civilizations of Greece and Rome to become great empires, determining the rise and fall of dynasties in imperial China, and underwriting the trade expeditions that led Europeans to the New World. He also demonstrates how the apparatus we associate with a modern economy—stock markets, lines of credit, complex financial products, and international trade—were repeatedly developed, forgotten, and reinvented over the course of human history.


Language


The language of the event will be English.


Ticket


RMB 20 for students; RMB 60 for Yale alumni; RMB 80 for others.


Please note: All attendee information collected by Yale Center Beijing through the event registration form on this website, or by any other means, will be kept strictly confidential. Yale Center Beijing will never distribute, sell, license, or otherwise make available for any purpose, any attendee information to any third party, unless otherwise required by law.

Agenda

1:30 PM

2 PM

Registration

2 PM

4 PM

Talk and Q&A

Speakers

  • William N. Goetzmann (Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Finance and Management Studies, Director of the International Center for Finance)

    William N. Goetzmann

    Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Finance and Management Studies, Director of the International Center for Finance

    Read Bio

Community

Connect with 127 people attending this event

Tickets

Student Ticket
RMB 20
Alumni Ticket
RMB 60
Standard Ticket
RMB 80

About Yale Center Beijing

Menu

此活动已结束,注册已经关闭。耶鲁北京中心中查看更多活动.

活动详情

活动简介


William N.Goetzmann教授将就"中国历史上的金融创新"和他的新书《千年金融史》进行主题演讲。本书由普林斯顿大学出版社出版于2016年,曾获得《金融时报》以及美国彭博年度商业书籍。


Goetzmann教授在书中展示了金融如何在历史上的关键时刻起到作用。例如,金融推动古代美索不达米亚文字的发明,促使希腊和罗马的古典文明成为伟大的帝国,决定中国封建王朝的兴衰,也为欧洲人到新世界的贸易探索活动提供保障。作者还向我们展示了那些常常与现代经济联系在一起的机制——股票市场,信用额度,复杂的金融产品和国际贸易——如何在人类历史的进程中被不断地发展、遗忘、和重新创造。


活动语言


活动语言为英文。



门票


学生门票20元;耶鲁校友60元;普通门票80元。



重要提示:耶鲁北京中心高度尊重您的隐私权。参会者通过此活动报名表格或其他报名渠道提供的信息将会绝对保密。除非有相关的法规和法院命令,我们不会与他人分享、出售或出租参会者的任何个人信息。

活动日程

13:30

14:00

注册

14:00

16:00

演讲与问答

演讲嘉宾

  • William N. Goetzmann (耶鲁管理学院金融和管理学教授、国际金融研究中心主任)

    William N. Goetzmann

    耶鲁管理学院金融和管理学教授、国际金融研究中心主任

    简介

社区

联系该活动与会者中的127个人

票务信息

学生票
¥20
校友票
¥60
普通门票
¥80

关于耶鲁北京中心

菜单